Bacon and Hinkley Home, Inc.
581 Pequot Avenue, New London, Connecticut, USA 06320
Samuel S. Hinkley, a New London banker, and Morris W. Bacon, a noted business man and sportsman, left trust
properties to establish a home for "aged, respectful, indigent men." The two men, forty years apart in age, died in
1911. They had never met but shared a common goal to establish a home for retired men in New London County.
In 1927, the trustees of the two estates joined together and made the Bacon and Hinkley Home a reality, fulfilling
the wishes of both gentlemen. In 1939, a committee was appointed to find a suitable site for the home, and, in
1940, the perfect site was voted on for purchase. The Frank Loomis Palmer estate was purchased, and on
November 30, 1941, the home opened its doors to its first residents. The Palmer home was a beautiful old
Victorian estate that originally had three floors and a veranda surrounding three sides of the home.
In the early 1950's, the home was renovated. The second floor was removed, and a resident wing was erected off
the south side of the building. The new residents wing incorporated eleven large spacious rooms with half baths,
four with a garden view and seven with a view of the Thames River. The home has a beautiful large dining room,
living room with a fireplace, hardwood floors, and large picture windows overlooking the Thames River. The
sunroom, with its original unique red stone tile floor with small inlayed ceramic animal tiles, provides a
comfortable spot to enjoy breathtaking panoramic views of the Thames River and Long Island Sound. In 1988,
Bacon and Hinkley successfully petitioned the courts to modify the trust to allow women to be admitted as